Creating filtered version of banner image.


Stand & Deliver

Stand & Deliver is a hard rock band from Detroit with a spiritual, mystical focus.

     Formed in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1998 under the name Mystery Train, the band re-released its debut album The Blue Line (2013) along with bootleg live album Alive in Little Five (2013) with plans to release several more albums of original material in 2015 and 2016. The Blue Line was produced by John Nielsen (Matchbox 20, Sevendust, Korn, Drivin’ n Cryin’) and mastered by Rodney Mills (Lynyrd Skynyrd, Journey, .38 Special, Doobie Brothers). The album features 13 original songs and includes guest appearances by keyboardist Joey Huffman (Matchbox 20, Soul Asylum, Drivin’ n Cryin’, Georgia Satellites).

     Stand & Deliver formed in Atlanta in 1998 when Detroit-area natives D.K. Brainard (vocals) and Jeff Lupo (guitars) started jamming with old college friend Matthew Roch Brady (bass) and Bahamas-born drummer Ivan Prosper.

    The band’s blend of hard rock guitars, melodic bass, confessional lyrics and a hard-hitting live show garnered the band a cult following in Atlanta and around the Southeast, where they often played shows from a customized 1977 school bus with a retractable stage. After a shared bill in an Atlanta club, blues-rock guitarist Tinsley Ellis described the band as sounding “like a young Led Zeppelin”.

     The follow-up album to The Blue Line, began in 2003 when Ten-Year Bender was recorded in Detroit as the band was falling apart under the weight of creative differences and personal problems. Over the next several years, the individual band members went through enough challenges and hardships to fill an episode of VH1’s Behind the Music, including battling cancer, substance abuse, homelessness, deportation and jail time.

     Healthy and sober at last, guitarist Jeff Lupo and singer D.K. Brainard reunited in Detroit in 2007 and began writing songs again under the Stand & Deliver moniker. In 2012, the duo traveled to the Bahamas to begin recording drum tracks with original drummer Ivan Prosper for two new full-length albums of original material.


Mailing List

A Taste of Music

Social Networks